MCSA Holds 2021 Student Elections

MCSA Holds 2021 Student Elections

By Erik Kjer, News Editor Originally published in Issue 10, Volume 33 of The University Register on March 26, 2021

Elections for next year’s student government were held online last week with the most crowded ballot student elections have seen in years. With a large portion of student government’s senior leaders set to graduate this spring, this election saw fewer incumbents on the ballot compared to a typical cycle. Mitchell Moris and Joslyn Kent were defeated by Julia Scovil and Dylan Young for president and vice president respectively. In a joint statement given to the University Register, Scovil and Young thanked their supporters and congratulated the other victorious candidates.

“At midnight on Saturday, the campus election results were in and we were officially elected student body President and VP for the 2021-2022 academic year. We would like to extend a special thanks to those who supported our campaign - we would not have been able to achieve victory with over 30% of the vote without that encouragement. We would also like to congratulate the other candidates who won their elections on the consultative committee, student senator, and campus assembly ballot. The countless student leaders who will be serving MCSA with us have given us full confidence that we can achieve many great things for our student body in the coming year. Stay tuned.”

In addition to the contested presidency, a total of twenty five students ran for campus assembly representatives, a much more diverse selection of candidates, and a number that dwarfs anything seen in recent memory. Although student government is meant to operate with sixteen campus representatives, the position hasn’t attracted many student candidates. Only five students ran in last year’s elections, and only eleven ran in 2019. Elections for student senators and consultative representatives were uncontested.

Unrelated to the composition of next year’s student government, students also passed five non-binding referendums instructing the University of Minnesota to declare a climate emergency, disclose its investments in private organizations that profit from fossil fuels, divest their endowment from fossil fuel companies, denounce the construction of Enbridge’s Line 3 Replacement Project, and provide menstrual products in all public restrooms on campus.